Scam of The Week!


Hey what’s up everyone? Earlier today I was setting at my computer doing some research on domaining when I recieved this email:

“Hello,

Our company is interested in your domain name. What are your expectations

in US dollars? Euro is also ok.

We are in investing and real estate business. And we are very interested

in Internet names and web sites too.

If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list.

Looking forward to do business with you.”

I emailed back and forth with this person to try and make a sale. But kept telling me that he needed to have documentation on what my domain names appraised at… he kept telling me that all these companies were not refutable appraisal services including Afternic and Sedo. Basically this guy was trying to make me think that he was going to buy ALL my domains and that in order for him to do so, I would have to get appraisals through NameSaleShop.com
Well I did my research only to find out that this “namesaleshop.com” was created only a couple months ago…
According to whois.sc this is what came up:

Registry Data for namesaleshop.com

ICANN Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Created: 2009-08-07
Expires: 2010-08-07
Updated: 2009-08-07
Registrar Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registrar Status: clientRenewProhibited
Registrar Status: clientTransferProhibited
Registrar Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Name Server: NS47.DOMAINCONTROL.COM (has 22,697,373 domains)
Name Server: NS48.DOMAINCONTROL.COM (has 22,697,373 domains)
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com

If anyone has ever used this service and actually got a response back I would be VERY shocked!! I told the guy I would not go through namesaleshop.com to get my domains appraised. I asked him if I didn’t go through namesaleshop.com if he would still be interested in purchasing the domain names……… needless to say I never got a response back.

I’m pretty sure this guy just wanted me to think that he was going to buy my domain’s so that I would go to HIS website and spend my money on a service that wasn’t even real… and then he would disappear forever!!

If I am wrong and anyone out there has actually used this service then please correct me by leaving a comment….but until someone can prove that this wasn’t a SCAM…. I’m going to keep this posted!

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Tumblr
  • Twitthis
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by James Aranowski on August 30, 2009 - 11:53 am

    I’ve sold several domains through NameSaleShop.com. They are good professionals. They are legit. May be this is its affiliate or something of that kind.

  2. #2 by admin on August 30, 2009 - 11:58 am

    Really?? I looked at there website and just was not impressed at all!! It just seemed like it was something that would be a scam… The guy was really persistent about me going through this company…

  3. #3 by Philip on August 31, 2009 - 10:16 am

    I have never had any appraisels through this website, but I don’t think I will anytime soon due to the lack of good content! I just think that it looked very unprofessional.

    Just my personal opinion.


  4. #4 by Curt on September 3, 2009 - 2:57 pm

    I’m in the midst of communicating with the same guy, I believe. D Lawrence, in my case. I’m just reading the second email from him now, directing me to go to namesaleshop.com for an appraisal as, according to him, all the others are scams. Yeah. Right.

    I don’t know anything about namesaleshop.com, but it does look amateur, and that whois registration – how else can that be explained?

    Oh well, I guess I won’t be getting $9,000 for singlesbible.com.

    You know, I’d really like to mess with this little con artist. Any suggestions.

  5. #5 by reddy on September 6, 2009 - 12:07 am

    yes it is scam. He send the same matter to me that he was interested to buy my domain and asked me to appraise from namesaleshop.com. No doubt it is a scam. He introduced with the name Lander from the email Nethostllc@hotmail.com So, please aware of this kind of email.

  6. #6 by metatron on September 9, 2009 - 4:50 am

    also received mail, replied with a direct to this site

    spam scam

    oh well, did think my domain name was worth more than $15 000

  7. #7 by Yegon on September 10, 2009 - 3:17 pm

    Yea, this is a scam. he sent me the same request and was willing to pay $2900 for my domain. He even sent me a link; http://webdiscuss.007sites.com/Archive-07-2009/81345627.htm
    I have since put my facts straight about http://www.nameshop.com

    The guy named “Nameseller” is a cheat. He is actually a co-owner of the site http://www.namesaleshop.com . If you go to the site http://www.namesaleshop.com, you will find this;
    “Our Sale Statistics (Previous Month)
    Domains listed in August, 2009: 3,826
    Domains sold in August, 2009: 2,119
    Average selling price: $ 5,372 ”

    This is ridiculous and complete dishonesty. If you want to find out if http://www.namesaleshop.com has been selling any domains, just go to http://www.dnjournal.com/domainsales.htm
    It is a weekly journal on all global domain sales. You will see all the domains that were sold, the prices and the market place where they were sold. You will be shocked, http://www.namesaleshop.com is no where to be seen.

    The website http://www.namesaleshop.com itself is valued at a mere $387.63 and it’s only 3 weeks old. Check here: http://www.cubestat.com/www.namesaleshop.com

    If you still doubt me, see here for yourself:
    http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/603905-my-situation-and-a-couple-questions.html

    Good luck Guyz.

  8. #8 by galanito on September 12, 2009 - 4:23 am

    Hi there! this scamsters also wrote to me the same bull****.
    They try to buy one of my domains but only throught his ‘appraisal service’ wich simply is an amateur website with the only purpose to rob our money.I will f***ing hack this web!!! :)

  9. #9 by Vinod on September 14, 2009 - 11:42 pm

    Well, I m in a row with this same guy asking me to go to namesaleshop for appraisal.

    Thanks for this alert.

  10. #10 by mike on November 8, 2009 - 10:11 pm

    BEWARE OF Namesaleshop.com SCAM. they sent me email through: hamilton@domainsecondhand.com

    We invest in domain names. What is your price for the domain name?

    We have a solid budget but we offer reasonable offers only. We will not
    overpay. If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list.

    As a seller you should provide me with an appraisal first. This is a reasonable practice.

    Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It’s very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust.

    I’ve found not all the appraisals are accurate. So I accept real manual appraisals from trusted sources only.

    I don’t trust $14-$20 services. Nobody will do a research for $14. We need a real manual service.

    I researched several companies and here are the results:

    I wanted to engage AccurateDomains.com as appraiser but looks like this company has very bad reputation
    Just read this blog
    accuratedomains.com
    So I’m not going to accept this fraudulent service.

    I also considered Afternic Domain Name Search: Buy, Sell, Resell, Park & Purchase Domain Names for Sale, but now it’s clear their service is not reliable enough.
    Just read this:
    Domain Brokers
    “Capsule Review: After lots of complaints, Afternic is no longer a recommended service. We will re-review the service in the near future.”

    Another complaint
    Lawsuit alleges dealings in stolen domain name | Pinsent Masons LLP

    I was told about manual research service from ■ DomainMart – Domain Name Consulting (Valuation, Appraisal, Portfolio Management, Investment, Selecting TLDs), Corporate Training. It costs – $200/hour.

    Many experienced sellers suggested us Namesaleshop.com as a trustworth manual service. They charge per name not per hour. We’ve read only positive comments about them. And I have my own positive experience with this company and their support.

    SO PEOPLE WATCH OUT, THEY ARE USING THIS TACTIC TO MAKE PEOPLE GO TO NAMESALESHOP AND CHARGE THEM MONEY, THIS IS MISLEADING AND RIP OFF AND THEY EVEN TALK BAD ABOUT WEBSITES DEALING WITH DOMAIN NAMES SINCE AGES, AS U CAN SEE.

(will not be published)